Day 3-6 of #100DAYSOFCODE

ยท

3 min read

DAY 3, 4, 5, 6 OF #100DAYSOFCODE

I spent the rest of my week working on a tag comics app UI clone and making improvements to kiimstar. I've really wanted to do a tag comics clone for a while now because I make comics (check out the SantanaMan on webtoon and comicwox) and they're a big inspiration to us. The clone was just of part of the homepage, I wanted to see how close I could get to the same design and I got pretty close, but I couldn't find pictures that fit the cards so it doesn't look quite right. I plugged the cover of my comic into the app and showed a member of my team who asked "When did we get on tag comics?" ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚. I'll resize the images to better fit the design so I can fool more people, lol.

Screenshot_20200809-174156.png Screenshot_20200809-174216.png

About kiimstar, I made a couple of improvements and added all the features I planned to add and a few more. I changed the entire app design and added the ability to switch pages in the app so you can view more news after you've scrolled through the first page. There's also now a search button on the appbar that takes you to a new screen were you can input a search query in a text field and that would get the results and show it in the news page. There's also a reset button to reset your search and the page you're on. I think I'm done with kiimstar now and I'm moving on to new projects. I'll appreciate suggestions on what I should try to build next. You can download the kiimstar APK from my google drive here.

Screenshot_20200809-035018.png Screenshot_20200809-174624.png

Speaking of new projects, I created a Fiverr account . I'm not really doing it for the money, although it's a much welcomed bonus, but I want to get the experience and feel of what's it's like to be working on a project for a client. I hope I get a client, for the experience and the five bucks of course.

I think my biggest challenge is overthinking what I want to do. I spend all day thinking about what I planned to do and it gets overwhelming in my head. I end up not doing the work till it's night time, which messes with my sleep schedule because I spend all night working on that thing and end up sleeping very late. I'm working on just starting without thinking too much about it but it's kinda hard. Also social media is a huge distraction, like even to just drop my phone and start working on something is a huge endeavour ๐Ÿ˜…, but recently I set up a daily timer for all my social media to hopefully reduce the time I spend on them.

Thank you for reading!