Day 1 & 2 of #100DaysOfCode

Kiimstar News App

For my first two days of committing to the #100DaysOfCode challenge I wrote a news feed mobile application with flutter to try to cement my knowledge of the framework, especially on working with APIs and asynchronous programming with dartlang. The app is called Kiimstar (inspired by the popular YouTuber) and it displays news articles in a scrollable feed. I used newsapi.org to fetch the news data using their API on the free Developer plan, the http package from pub.dev to make http requests and the webview package to open news URLs in the app.

This was a good first project for me as I learnt a lot from it. I plan on improving the app by adding functionality to enable searching for news since the news API supports it, right now you can only select from some categories and countries through a drop down menu. The most difficult part of the project was surprisingly deciding on a user interface for the app. I just couldn't visualize how I wanted it to look in my head. Next time I'll use a design software to design the interface before I start coding.

The source code for the project can be found on the github repo

2256.png

0129.png

0130.png

0131.png

Thank you for reading! This is my first blog post on hashnode and I had so much fun writing it. I'll try to post updates twice a week, maybe Wednesdays and Saturdays on different topics. Feedback and comments are greatly appreciated.